Shanes Castle Estate
Shanes Castle Estate is the family seat of the O’Neills of Clanaboy. The Demesne is one of the most beautiful and well maintained in Ireland. Built in 1345 by a member of the O’Neill dynasty, it was originally called Eden-duff-carrick. Shane MacBrien O’Neill changed the name to Shanes Castle in 1722. Although the Castle has been in ruins since a fire in 1816, the remaining structure, including a unique Camellia House, is a striking feature on the landscape. The demesne extends along the shores of Lough Neagh and covers 2,600 acres of most beautiful scenery. The oak trees are the finest in the north of Ireland, and the gardens are famous for their beauty.
Shanes Castle Estate is truly a unique location and is only open to the public for planned events, to find out more including the history of the castle and the O’Neill’s go to their website http://www.shanescastle.com/
The castle and grounds have been used extensively in filming in the HBO TV series Game of Thrones. It hosted the Tourney of the Hand in honor of Ned Stark and was seen to good effect when King Robert Baratheon and posse arrived at Winterfell, and served as the King’s Landing dungeons. The shores of the lough saw Brienne of Tarth despatch a group of wildmen while escorting Jamie Lannister to King’s Landing, and a distinctive arched bridge has been seen several times.